The Girl on the Train

So I know that this book came out last year, but I feel that the hype is still very much alive! As soon as ‘The Girl on the Train’ landed on bookshelves around the world, it got people’s attention.

I have never been the type of person who follows book ‘trends’. I waited for read the Philip Pulman series until well after all of my friends, the Twilight Saga did not grace my book shelf until the drama of the Bella-Edward-Jacob issues calmed down and I’m sure I am still to read many others. However when the Times review of this book, I knew that I would love it and went straight to my local supermarket to snap it up.

From the first page, I was hooked. The story is about a girl who is broken, depressed and very alone. She gets the train to work every day, but her life is crumbling around her. Every day while sitting on the train, she sees a woman and her husband and feels that they are the ideal couple and everything that she wants in life: happiness, marriage, love and a child. The story however takes a dark turn when it turns out that this couple that she sees every day are not strangers at all, in fact she knows one of them very well.

The book is a total page turner. I never knew what was going to happen right until the last chapter and when I finished I wanted to know more.

I cannot recommend this book enough and would definitely give it 5 stars. If you buy one book this summer, let this book be it!

xx

 

Leave a Reply

