A welcome surprise…

Hi

As you may have noticed by now, I am a huge fan of books and have loved reading since I was a little girl. My favourite books are and will always be the ‘Harry Potter’ series. So when I heard that J.K Rowling was writing under the pseudonym of Robert Galbraith, I was unsure as to how I felt so I admittedly stayed clear of them the books for a while. My scepticism was then deepened  when I tried to read ‘The Casual Vacancy’ but couldn’t get past the first few chapters. The vulgar language and writing style was so far removed from the halls of Hogwarts that I felt she had simply tried too hard to move away from her children’s books and the story suffered.

cuckoo's calling

At a family party at my husband’s Auntie Heather’s house, she recommended the Robert Galbraith books and gave me the first one in the series to try. From the first chapter I was hooked. The story focuses around Comoran Strike, a private detective who is down on his luck, and a murder which he is hired to investigate by the uncle of a supermodel who dies in mysterious circumstances. Along the way, he develops a touching relationship with his new assistant and proves himself to be a great detective despite being overweight, newly single after a nasty break up and bankrupt.

The story is fast-paced while still allowing you to keep up, the characters feel like your friends and the mystery stays covered up until the very last chapter. I cannot recommend this book enough if you love a classic murder mystery and I can’t wait to read the second book in the series, ‘The Silkworm’. I’ll keep you posted on how Mr Strike’s career develops.

 

xxx

Leave a Reply

